Enter your info below to get started!

FREE 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan | veganyogalife.com
Free 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan

Curious about going vegan?

Do you want to go vegan but think it would be too hard?

This FREE 30-day Guide to Going Vegan is for you!

Receive daily emails with tips, recipes and inspiration for transitioning to a vegan diet healthfully, mindfully – and joyfully.

Get started by clicking the button below!

Foods That Seem Vegetarian But Aren’t

french fries
Before becoming vegan I never realized just how many animal by-products are incorporated into so many packaged foods and beverages. Recently, I attended the Los Angeles Beer and Food Festival and it got me wondering: “isn’t all beer vegan?” This question prompted me to do a little research which led me down a rabbit hole.

What I’ve discovered is that there are many ingredients used in processing and filtration of beer and other alcohols that we might not consider when thinking about the finished product. Unfortunately, this is the case with many other food products as well. Fortunately, it is possible to educate yourself on the main offenders and foods to watch out for if you are trying to avoid animal products. Below, you will find some of the commonly used ingredients and foods you may find them in.

This is by no means an exhaustive list of animal products in foods as I have skipped over the obvious non-vegan ingredients such as cream and butter. Instead, I chose to focus on the less obvious animal products that are very well hidden. My hope is that this post will help people to realize just how many foods actually use animal by-products and how to choose a more compassionate healthy diet.

Beer & Wine

Animal by-product used: isinglass
Isinglass is also found in: some jellies

Some non-vegan ingredients are commonly used in beer such as dairy and honey. But who would have thought that a substance derived from fish bladders would end up in our alcohol? Unfortunately, this substance is frequently used in the beer and wine industries during the clarification process. Check out this handy list to see if your favorite beverages are, in fact, vegetarian. 

Vitamin and Medicine Capsules

Animal by-product used: gelatin
Geltain is also found in: Jello, marshmallows, some ice creams, yogurts, dips

When I was younger, I remember hearing that jello was made of horse-hooves but I always thought it was a myth. Turns out that this is not a wive’s tale. According to Wikipedia, gelatin is in fact a substance made from collagen “extracted from the skin, bones, and connective tissues of animals such as domesticated cattle, chicken, pigs, and fish.” It’s been a while since I ate animals but seriously, doesn’t this seem gross to anyone? Who wants pig collagen in their ice cream?

Another way gelatin can sneak into your diet is via medicine and vitamin capsules. There are many products on the shelves that promote 100% vegetarian ingredients. If your item does not say vegetarian, I recommend you check your labels to make sure gelatin is not in the ingredients list. Or opt for the regular tablets instead of gel capsules.


Animal by-product used: rennet, casein
Rennet is also found in: most products that contain cheese

If you thought that eating cheese does not contribute to the killing of animals, this one is going to sting a bit. In addition to the fact that dairy products are not actually cruelty-free, many cheeses such as cheddar and parmesan are made with rennet, which is an enzyme extracted from baby calves’ stomachs. Fortunately there are rennet-free cheeses and of course, you’re always safe with vegan cheeses. As with the vitamin capsules, always check the ingredients list – sometimes even soy cheeses use casein which is a milk protein!

French Fries

Animal by-product used: animal fats, sometimes in the form of lard
Animal fats are also found in: fried foods, refried beans, pastries

I have to admit that when I went vegan at least once I thought to myself, “at least I can still have french fries.” And fortunately this is true – for the most part. I have discovered that some restaurants actually use animal fats to fry their french fries and other deep-fried foods. When ordering, simply ask what kind of oil they use to fry. Other items to watch for that may seem vegetarian at first glance are refried beans and pastries, both of which are commonly made with animal fats in the form of lard.


Animal by-product used: animal-based broths, bonito
Animal-based broths are also found in: rice and pasta dishes, many pre-made or frozen meals

Since going vegan I’ve become increasingly disappointed at the lack of animal-free salad options. Luckily, it’s easy enough to ask for no chicken or cheese on a salad and request a vegan dressing. Soups on the other hand are a little trickier. Many soups may seem vegetarian but actually contain broths made from animals. French onion soup is a perfect example of this. If someone was unfamiliar with the ingredients of this classic soup they may not know that even though it contains no meat, it is made with beef broth. Sometimes even “vegetable” soups are made with chicken broth. Rice dishes are commonly made with chicken broth as well. Some asian soups such as miso or udon are commonly made with bonito, a flavoring derived from fish. Check ingredient labels when purchasing products in the store and ask your waiter, if eating in a restaurant.


Animal by-product used: carmine
Carmine is also found in: some juices, ice creams and candies

Although yogurts are clearly not vegan, I never would have guessed they weren’t vegetarian! Some yogurts are made with carmine, which is a pigment derived from insects and used to color foods, cosmetics and other items. Luckily, the FDA decided in 2009 that it must be listed on the ingredient label as either “cochineal extract” or “carmine.”

Hopefully you are seeing a trend by now – check your labels everyone!

[divider] [/divider]


Something I feel strongly about and I feel this post underlines the importance of, is preparing fresh food at home, from scratch. Many of the items on this list can be avoided by preparing food ourselves. Clearly, it’s unrealistic to think that we can make every single meal we consume, but we can improve the quality of the food we consume by setting the intention and planning ahead. Learning to recognize ingredients on food labels or simply avoiding foods which contain long lists of ingredients with which we are not familiar is just one step towards empowerment over out health and where we choose to spend our money.

Like what you've read?

Receive inspiration, tips and more direct to your inbox

PLUS a FREE Vegan Meal Planning Essentials Checklist

This is a vegan site. No spam ever! Powered by ConvertKit
  • annie

    Hi, vegan good post. I like to know where the recipies for French Fries picture on the top ? I like to make this if you have the recipies. thank you in advance

Epic #vegan breakfast sandwich with pan-fried tofu, @sweetearthfoods bacon, tomato, avocado and arugula on an everything bagel. 
Get delicious vegan recipes, tips and inspiration at VeganYogaLife.com πŸŒ±πŸ’•βœŒπŸ»οΈ
It takes nothing away from a human to be kind to an animal. #Truth! It does, however, take something away from us whenever we support a system of violence and cruelty by purchasing and eating animal products. By choosing a vegan lifestyle, we're choosing love and compassion for all beings!

Curious about trying a vegan diet? Get a FREE 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan ---> VeganYogaLife.com βœŒπŸ»οΈβœ¨πŸ’•πŸŒ±πŸŒ
Ever wonder if going vegan is expensive? Good news - it's not! 
Join me this Friday for a free LIVE lesson all about how to make vegan food at home - while on a budget. 
I'll be coverings by its important to prepare your own food, the 5 critical steps to saving money on groceries and 3 creative ways to make meal planning fun!

PLUS a Q&A session where you can ask any questions you might have about going vegan! 
Head on over here to register: VeganYogaLife.com/register

See you Friday!! πŸŒ±βœ¨βœŒπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ™πŸ»
I love making more elaborate breakfasts on weekend mornings! This delicious coffee cake recipe was created for #MorningsLikeThese, when there's time to sleep in and then make brunch without rushing. 
Get the recipe at VeganYogaLife.com πŸŒ±βœ¨βœŒπŸ»οΈπŸ’–β˜•οΈ
Had so much fun teaching a yoga class at the @bossbabesatx retreat today in Austin! They had everything from acupuncture and massage to nail painting and hair braiding. An all around kick-ass babes wellness wonderland! So grateful to be able to participate. βœŒπŸ»οΈβœ¨πŸ’–
Limiting the number of trips to the grocery store is key to saving money! If you go multiple times a week, chances are higher that you'll pick extra items that you don't actually need. So pick a day, write a list and stick to it!

For more #MealPlanningTips like this, click the link in my profile. Visit ➑️ VeganYogaLife.com for recipes, tips + inspiration for living healthfully + mindfully + deliciously! βœŒπŸ»οΈβœ¨πŸ’•πŸŒ±
Looking for something delicious to make for dinner this weekend? Try this Jerk Tempeh Sandwich with Sweet Pickled Bell Peppers! Sweet, smokey, spicy, mmm... Get the recipe at VeganYogaLife.com πŸŒ±πŸ’•βœ¨βœŒπŸ»οΈ
So true! Being vegan is not the end goal. Veganism is a way to compassion and living with more compassion for all living beings is a joyful way of being! 
See for yourself: Visit VeganYogaLife.com for my FREE 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan! βœ¨βœŒπŸ»οΈπŸ’•
Anyone else love adult coloring books? I'm obsessed with this one filled with mandalas! I got it at Michaels and the whole set of colorful pens at Target for $3! #targetfinds
BBQ Tofu Salad ~ Get vegan recipes + a FREE 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan at ➑️VeganYogaLife.com! πŸŒ±βœ¨πŸ’–πŸŒ
Sarah Hagstrom is one of the creative minds behind @theseasonaldiet. I’m impressed and inspired by her work and super thrilled to feature her in my #VeganEntrepreneurs Series! 
As an entrepreneur myself, I get all giddy when I come across others who are also vegan - especially when they literally make it their business to help make the world a better place! βœŒπŸ»οΈβœ¨πŸ’•πŸŒπŸŒ±
Click the link in my bio to read about her path to veganism, how it helped her overcome digestive issues and why she created The Seasonal Diet. 
Are you a #VeganEntrepreneur? Please get in touch if you'd like to be feature on Vegan Yoga Life!
I love this quote from Big Magic! It's so true that we must always stay curious and look inward for answers!

I've been deep in the midst of creating a meal planning kit the past few months. Cooking is one of my favorite things ever and I want to help others find the time to prepare healthy home cooked vegan meals to support a compassionate lifestyle!

Visit DIYMealPlanningKit.com for more info! βœŒπŸ»οΈβœ¨πŸ’•πŸŒ±
Remembering this awesome combo at Austin Beerworks' 5-year anniversary party #gringodemayo last weekend - orange IPA with veggie mesh (fried Brussels sprouts in a sweet sauce served on rice) from the @eastsideking truck! Yum!

Curious about a vegan diet? Visit VeganYogaLife.com to sign up for my FREE 30-Day Guide to Going Vegan! βœŒπŸ»οΈπŸŒ±βœ¨πŸ’•
An intelligent reminder from @joyfulvegan, who has inspired me from the very beginning of my #vegan journey and who never ceases to impress me with her wisdom, insight and...compassion. 
It's not about being
Delicious #vegan #brunch with tofu scramble, soyrizo and spinach, mushroom breakfast sausage, coffee cake and strawberries. We all agreed the only thing missing was a mimosa!

For recipes, visit ---> VeganYogaLife.com πŸŒ±πŸ’•βœ¨βœŒπŸ»οΈ